Houzz Logo Print
bec5656

need area rug advice

bec5656
Месяцев назад: 3

looking to replace the rug we have ( too light and can’t get doggy prints off) . The chairs have a muted pattern so I’m afraid patterned rug would clash or be too much? But I’m not sure the rule of thumb with patterned furniture and area rugs . the sofa is a sageish green. Thanks!

Комментарии: 7

• Torie123

I’m not an expert but I would suggest a green solid color to bring out the greenish in the chair.

• bec5656
    Автор

Thanks I was thinking that too I’m just afraid I wouldnt be able to match the greens correctly since the sofa green as well. I was also thinking of a solid Teracotta color ? Maybe that would be too dark..

• Torie123

No, I think that would actually look really good!

• freedomplace1
    Последние изменения: Месяцев назад: 3

It‘s a beautiful room, and i love the wall color, also. Precious doggie.

You could go green or terra cotta on a rug. You don’t have to exactly match the greens in your chairs, etc. As far as patterns: depending on the pattern, it could work with your patterned chairs; but yes of course a solid is easier. If you wanted to go eclectic and also tie in your wood furniture, I think a leopard print rug could be interesting.

I also see you have blue in your art, and blue and green are complementary. So I think something like this rug could work, too. Has subtle stripes.

https://www.rugs-direct.com/Details/ChrisLovesJuliaxLoloi-Chris-CHR01/146463/235300?

There are a number of rug/vendor sites that have a visualizer tool. So you can try out some rugs in your space. RugsDirect, Crate and Barrel, Incredible Rugs and Decor, and there are others. If you buy from online vendor, good to order smallest size rug first to check for color, texture, etc.

• marmiegard_z7b

I think pattern mixing would be great if you can try out the rug, either by Visualizer or buying a small trial size.