Houzz Logo Print
john_walsh67

Help to choose trees/shrubs/plants for 2 beds at front of house

John Walsh
Год(а)/Лет назад: 4

Hi

We finished the build of our new contemporary house last summer and all that remains to be done is the planting of the 2 beds at the front of the house. I have no gardening experience and would really appreciate some suggestions on what I should do with the 2 beds including but not limited to;

• Planting (Trees/Shrubs/Plants - we're in Northern Ireland)?
  • Ground cover
  • Lighting

The bed to the right is in front of the front door which has 2 full height clear windows either side so we would like something that will provide a little bit of privacy from passersby (there won't be many). The current weed cover and beach stones around the edge are temporary, to keep weeds at bay until we decide what to do.

The bed to the left is purely there to break up the expanse of tarmac.

It's a blank canvas which I'm hoping to fill before the growing season begins.

Thanks

John

Комментарии: 9

• Carolina

Does it get much sun? Which way is it facing?

• John Walsh
    Автор

Sorry I should have said that the front of the house is North facing so gets very little sun during the winter and gets morning and evening sun during the summer.

• Daisy England

I’m not a gardener either but I do like to see and appreciate a nice garden.

At the top of my garden in a long trough I have coloured heathers and they look lovely and add colour to the area all year round. I think these would also look good where you want them especially bearing in mind that your property is more mono based.

John Walsh поблагодарил(а): Daisy England
  • PRO
    Arthur Road Landscapes

Hello John