Houzz Logo Print
sierra_p67

Beginner gardener

sierra_p67
Год(а)/Лет назад: 4

Hey guys, I’m a beginner gardener, my boyfriend and I just moved to a new house that currently has a fenced garden area and we want to start gardening but don't know much about anything we are looking for tips and info

Комментарии: 9

• PRO
    Dave Green Gardens

Great to hear about the new garden space and brilliant that your interested in what can be done with it. There's some good guides to quite a few different aspects of gardening provided by the RHS (Royal Horticultural Society). Have a look at this page: https://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/get-growing and see what you think.

• sierra_p67
    Автор
    Последние изменения: Год(а)/Лет назад: 4

Callirhoe123

I’m located in northern B.C. looking to grow veggies my neighbor has a garden and grows tons so I know it’s possible as said before we are zone 4

• callirhoe123

Here's a resource to get you started. Plan now for the spring. https://vancouversun.com/news/staff-blogs/vegetable-gardening-for-beginners

• windberry zone5a BCCanada

You will have to start your preparations now. Start small. Turn your soil upside down and cover it with tarp to prevent the weeds from coming back too soon. See what your neighbour grows and follow him. Learn as you go.

What kind of soil do you have? Is it native soil? Is it clay, loam or sandy? What is your drainage and sun exposure? What grows there now?

Do you plan to grow organically? If so, start gathering organic materials. Fallen leaves are great composting material. Collect as many as you can. Do you have your own grass clippings? Ask your neighbours if they can give you theirs. It is never too much,

• sierra_p67
    Автор