Houzz Logo Print
misshayley

What do you look for when choosing art?

hayley
Год(а)/Лет назад: 6

I am a novice when it comes to picking art. What should I be looking for?

I realise that it needs to be something I like, but what else??? I need to learn from your experience, Houzzers. Please help!

(BTW, I like this kind of art. But that's just me.)

Sigynvagen 7 · Еще

Комментарии: 11

• hayley
    Автор

Thanks John. I like the idea of falling in love with a work. But what about the appreciation of art and the wisdom of it as an investment?

• jmm1837

Start by visiting some of the public art galleries and maybe taking a tour with a guide who can explain some of the key elements of the pieces on display (we had a marvellous guided tour of the NSW Art Gallery).. Wander through every commercial gallery and art exhibit you can. Maybe even take a course in art appreciation.

Art as an investment is for those with a very good understanding of art. Myself, I prefer to simply buy pieces I like - I doubt any of them will be investment pieces ever, but they didn't cost a fortune and they give me pleasure. I've picked up pieces in galleries, street markets, art shows, etc etc. There's lots of interesting original work out there. Take your time, and think of it as art, not as decor to match the sofa.

• PRO
    Lucia Pilotto

Buy the one that awake your feelings, for me that's the best way to choose.

• John Henson